Announcing 2018 Wright Spirit Award Honorees

Five Wright Spirit Awards will be presented at the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy’s 2018 awards gala dinner on Saturday, Oct. 13, at Monona Terrace in Madison, Wisconsin. The awards presentation caps the Conservancy’s annual conference.

Introduced by the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy in 1991, the Wright Spirit Award recognizes efforts of extraordinary individuals and organizations that have preserved the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright through their tireless dedication and persistent efforts. Nominations are invited from the public and honorees are selected by the Conservancy’s Awards Committee in the categories Private, Public, Professional and Special Honors.

“The Wright Spirit Award is recognized as one of the highest honors that can be bestowed in the Wright community,” says Conservancy Board President Edith Payne. “This year we recognize owners who have gone to great lengths to faithfully restore Wright-designed houses, foundations that provided the support to restore one of Wright’s most important early works, and a master craftsman whose expert work can be seen in numerous Wright restoration projects.”

In addition to the Wright Spirit Awards, Executive Director Barbara Gordon will present the Conservancy Award to Steelcase and Forward Space for donating and installing a suite of Steelcase office furniture in the Conservancy’s Chicago offices. “The Conservancy Award was created to honor an individual or organization that has been an exceptional asset to the staff of the Conservancy,” says Gordon. “This exceptionally generous donation by Steelcase and Forward Space vastly improved the functionality and appearance of our offices.”

The complete list of 2018 honorees is:

Private Category

James Dennis — Owner, Jacobs I House, Madison, WI

Lenhart and Ramsey Families — Owners, Harold Price Jr. House, Bartlesville, OK


Public Category

Alphawood Foundation and UTP, LLC — Unity Temple restoration


Professional Category

Stafford Norris III — Restoration of the Willey House, Lamberson House, and others


Special Honors

Gaines and Sharon Hall — Rescue and restoration of B. Harley Bradley House, Kankakee, IL


Conservancy Award

Steelcase and Forward Space — Donation and installation of new office furniture at Conservancy office

Jacobs I House in Madison, Wisconsin

James Dennis (second from right) at Taliesin with (left to right) Brad Lynch, John Eifler, Jon Leck and Bill Martinelli

Harold Price Jr. House in Bartlesville, Oklahoma

Lenhart and Ramsey families

Unity Temple

Stafford Norris III

The Bradley House, Kankakee, IL 60901

Gaines and Sharon Hall

Posted on August 13, 2018

Back to All Posts